## **Series Overview**



What: The Trans-Am Series is America's performance car road racing series, featuring "American Muscle Versus the World." In its 37<sup>th</sup> year of competition in 2002, The Trans-Am Series is the longest-running road racing series in North America. Since its inception in 1966, the Trans-Am has provided a competition arena for stock-appearing touring (sedans) and grand touring (sports) race cars. The 2002 season begins with race number 404.

**Models:** The newly styled Chevrolet Corvette, Dodge Viper, Ford Mustang and Panoz Esperante all made their competition debuts in 2001, and defending series champion Jaguar will debut a new body style in 2002. Chevrolet's Camaro is another of a wide range of additional manufacturers and models that are also eligible for Trans-Am competition, but convertibles are not allowed.

**Chassis:** The top chassis builders in the series include Hoerr, Huffaker/Qvale Motorsports, LG Motorsports, Panoz Motorsports, Pratt & Miller Engineering, Riley & Scott, Rocketsports, Roush, Selix-Weaver and Weaver.

**Drivers' Points:** Drivers' Championship points are awarded on a per-race basis as follows: 1st, 30 pts.; 2nd, 27; 3rd, 25; 4th, 23; 5th, 21; 6th, 20; 7th, 19; 8th, 18; 9th, 17; 10th, 16; 11th, 15; 12th, 14; 13th, 13; 14th, 12; 15th, 11; 16th, 10; 17th, 9; 18th, 8; 19th, 7; 20th, 6; 21st, 5; 22nd, 4; 23rd, 3; 24th, 2; 25th, 1.

**BFGoodrich Tires Cup (Drivers' Championship):** Each season the Trans-Am Series for the BFGoodrich Tires Cup recognizes as its Drivers' Champion the driver scores the most Drivers' Championship points throughout the season. Paul Gentilozzi of Rocketsports Racing drove a Johnson Controls/HomeLink Jaguar XKR to his third Trans-Am championship in 2001. The Trans-Am champion is rewarded with a \$100,000 bonus and a handsome trophy, the BFGoodrich Tires Cup. In the case of a tie for any year-end finishing position, the higher position is awarded based on number of wins, second-place finishes, third-place finishes, etc.

**Manufacturers' Points:** Points shall be awarded to the manufacturer's highest finishing automobile, regardless of model. Corporate brands will be considered a "manufacturer." Points will be awarded on the following basis: 1st, 15 points; 2nd, 13 points; 3rd, 11 points; 4th, 9 points; 5th, 7 points; 6th, 5 points; 7th, 4 points; 8th, 3 points; 9th, 2 points; 10th, 1 point.

**Manufacturers' Championship:** Each season the Trans-Am Series recognizes as its Manufacturers' Champion the manufacturer who scores the most Manufacturers' Championship points throughout the season. In the case of a tie, the Manufacturers' Champion is determined by number of wins, second-place finishes, etc.

AmeriSuites Rookie of the Year: Each season the Trans-Am Series recognizes a Rookie of the Year. The Rookie of the Year Award is sponsored by AmeriSuites, Preferred Hotel of the Trans-Am Series. To be eligible, a driver may have competed in no more than three (3) Trans-Am races in a single previous season and no more than five (5) Trans-Am races in his/her career. AmeriSuites will award \$10,000 to the eligible driver who finishes with the most Drivers' Championship points at the end of the season. Justin Bell claimed the award in 2001.

**BBS Most Improved Driver:** BBS, a longtime motorsports wheel supplier, begins its sixth season as sponsor of the Trans-Am Series' Most Improved Driver award. The BBS Most Improved Driver is selected by a vote of the Trans-Am Series drivers.

**Fast Five Qualifying:** Trans-Am's Fast Five Qualifying program, entering its 20<sup>th</sup> season in 2002, recognizes and rewards the top-five qualifiers at each Trans-Am Series race with both qualifying prize monies and points. The five fastest qualifiers at each Trans-Am event receive a bonus point toward the BFGoodrich Tires Cup, and the pole winner receives an additional point.

Bonus Points: One point is awarded to any driver who leads a lap, and one point goes to the driver who leads the most laps.

Attendance Mark: The Trans-Am averages more than 1.1 million fans each year in attendance. The single-season attendance record of 1,305,571 was <u>set</u> in 1996.

